1. Home
  2. >

Built to inform

Sign up for the daily newsletters

No, Thank you

Six MPs join National Shipping Board


The National Shipping Board (NSB) has inducted six members of Parliament for a period of two years. Six Members of Parliament have today joined the National Shipping Board (NSB) for a period of two years from today. Of them, the four MPs from Lok Sabha are Somendranath Mitra (West Bengal), Rajendrasinh Rana (Gujarat), Adv. A Sampath (Kerala) and Hamdullah Sayeed (Lakshadweep). The two MPs from Rajya Sabha are KVP Ramchandra Rao (Andhra Pradesh) and KB Shanappa (Karnataka).

The NSB has in recent time taken up a number of issues and made significant recommendations on the shipping sector to the government.
The Board is chaired by Capt. PVK Mohan. Other members of the Board are Additional Secretary – Ministry of Shipping, Joint Secretary – Ministry of Shipping, Director General – Shipping, Joint Secretary – Ministry of Commerce, Deputy Chief – Naval Staff, Director General – Coast Guard, Chairman – Shipping Corporation of India, Chairman – Cochin Ship Yard, Chairman – Chennai Port Trust, Vice Chancellor – Indian Maritime University, Ship Owners, Representatives of Trade Unions and Bodies.
The main issues which have been concerning the Board in recent times are Piracy and Maritime Security, Coastal Shipping Policy, setting up of State Maritime Boards, policy changes in sinking of Iron-Ore ships, Container Terminal in Diamond Harbour, Bulk Port in Sagar Islands, Eastern side Jetties and Floating Break Waters etc. in Lakshdweep Islands.

Most Popular


Olympia Group announces to build up 1.1mn sq-ft greenfield it park in Guindy
The project will have a total investment of about Rs 750 crore


Vital pre-monsoon building works resume in Maharashtra
The state government has permitted pre-monsoon work by BMC and other agencies

Latest Issue

June 2020
10 Jun 2020