1. Home
  2. >

IIID-Anchor Ave Awards 2010


IIID-Anchor Ave Awards 2010 for the Bangalore Chapter of the Indian Institute of Interior Designers showcased some of the best design ideas that India has seen recently.

The ceremony for the IIID-Anchor Ave Awards for IID’s Bangalore chapter was held at Sheesh Mahal Palace Grounds on March 27. Anchor Electricals, Ave’s Indian partners, teamed up with the Institute of Indian Designers (IIID) Bangalore Regional Chapter to institute the IIID-Ave Awards 2010 for Excellence in Interior Design, every alternate year.

Entries from prominent architects such as RC Architects and Khosla Architects were displayed attractively. Tushar Gandhi, a socio-political activist and managing trustee of the Mahatma Gandhi Foundation, was the chief guest for the evening.

He was accompanied by Ravi Mohite, Anchor Electricals Pvt Ltd, and Ar Alex Jacob, chapter chairman. Gandhi spoke on ecological sensitivity, having a smaller carbon footprint and less use of water.

He emphasised the importance of making dwellings energy-efficient and the overall responsibility of architects and designers to use eco-friendly materials and be aware of environmental implications of the kind of structures they built.

Mohite gave an audio-visual presentation on Ave and the latest products that they will be launching in India.

Jacob thanked Anchor for their continued support of the IIID Awards.

A short dance performance by the Urja group on Taico drums for the soul was arranged to entertain the audience.

Gandhi gave away the awards – a trophy and a certificate – designed by Micheal Foley, the designer of Titan watches. There were six categories in all: residential, corporate, retail, hospitality, lighting in interiors; and essay. After the awards were distributed, Ar Bindi Saolapurkar closed with a vote of thanks.

Residential Space
Winner: Dominic Dube – DDIR Architectural Studio
Runner up: Narendra Pirgal – Cadence
Consolation: Krubha Karan – The Design Firm

Winner: George John,Vijay D’souza – RC Architecture
Consolation: Sujith Muralidhar – The Design Firm
Consolation: Suman DN – Suman Designs

Winner: Ajit Jain – Praxis Inc
Runner up: Smaran Mallesh – Cadence
Consolation: Kiran Venkatesh – In Form Architect

Winner: Bijoy Ramchandran – Sunitha
Consolation: Sandeep YS – Cube Architects

Winner: Sandeep Khosla – Khosla Associates
Runner up: Sarath Kumar – SKS Group
Consolation: Rajesh S – Techno Architect

Winner: Kodanda Pani – Plan Arch
Runner up: Naresh Venkataraman – Venkatramanan Associates

Most Popular


Olympia Group announces to build up 1.1mn sq-ft greenfield it park in Guindy
The project will have a total investment of about Rs 750 crore


Vital pre-monsoon building works resume in Maharashtra
The state government has permitted pre-monsoon work by BMC and other agencies

Latest Issue

Sept 2020
01 Sep 2020