1. Home
  2. >

Built to inform

Sign up for the daily newsletters

No, Thank you

24 States sign SSAs with NHAI, so far


Twenty four States and Union Territories have signed the State Support Agreement (SSA) with NHAI so far. Minister for Road Transport and Highways, Shri Kamal Nath informed the Lok Sabha today that some State Governments had sought clarifications pertaining to some of the provisions in SSA, especially those relating to restriction on construction of competing roads, additional toll ways, levying of local taxes etc. After receiving the clarifications, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Nagaland, Uttarakhand, Orissa and Meghalaya have signed the SSA.
Amongst the States which have not signed the SSA so far includes Bihar, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, and Kerala. While Uttar Pradesh Government signed the SSA on 13th Jan 2010, it subsequently withdrew on 26th March 2010.
State Support Agreement is an umbrella agreement which is applicable to the National Highways projects being undertaken after signing of the agreement. The SSA does not prevent the State Governments from undertaking significant road development in their respective State.

Most Popular


Olympia Group announces to build up 1.1mn sq-ft greenfield it park in Guindy
The project will have a total investment of about Rs 750 crore


Vital pre-monsoon building works resume in Maharashtra
The state government has permitted pre-monsoon work by BMC and other agencies

Latest Issue

June 2020
10 Jun 2020